Family Night Rocks!

School is in full swing and I am trying to implement a new rule:  Dinner will be served at the table on school nights.  During the summer we got a little (okay, we got a LOT) slack with dinner at night.  I mean, I fed the children, but more often than not we ate in front of the tv.  That’s not what I like, so when school started I made it my mission to eat at the table during the week.  So far, so good!

Wednesday night was family night.  We had dinner at the table (salad, spaghetti and garlic bread) and pleasant conversation about our days.  The Boys all behaved and everyone ate well.  On a side note, I’ve learned that everyone usually eats well if they have one snack and it’s no later than 3pm.  I need to remember this.  After dinner we cleared the table and I got the Play-Doh out.  Play-Doh is another thing I love the smell of…like new crayons.  I gave it out at the Marriott for everyone to have at their desk to just open and play with when they got stressed.  I love to play with it, so we did!  Here is a picture of what Rhett made-it’s The Thing from Fantastic Four!  The Boys were very impressed in his sculpting ability…as was I!  Here is Logan with his “barrel”…and a spaghetti face!

 

 

 

 

We had a great time!!   After Play-Doh time it was sundae time!!  We had ice cream with crushed Oreos, chocolate chips, sprinkles and whipped cream!  The Boys loved it! 

After ice cream, I fed Harry his bottle and he actually let me hold him so I took a picture so I’ll always have my view of him while I fed him.  It won’t be long and he’ll give up his bottle (I’m not taking it from him so don’t ask-it’s enough that I’m not knocking him down while he’s tentatively taking steps!  :o)  ) and when that happens a little piece of my heart will break.  Let’s not talk about that right now.

Life Groups will start in 2 weeks so we won’t have Family night on Wednesdays, but I think Mondays will be open so we can do it then.  I hope to have dinner at the table every night, but Family Night we will stay at the table after dinner and be a family.

This week has gone well.  The Boys love school, Logan is adjusting and I am loving being a stay at home Mom who rarely stays at home.  Rhett had a rainy day that he came home for and accomplished MANY projects around the house.  This afternoon he cut a door down to size to change out my hall closet door and tonight we are picking out paint for the living room.  Wait till you see the color we want—and Nadine said the color would be great-that she LOVES the color so I hope I’m not too crazy for wanting it!  We’ll see.

Okay-I’m leaving for now, but remember, when you are stressed, open up a can of Play-Doh and inhale and squish it around in your hands!  You’ll feel much better!

Until Next Time, I’m Fondly Yours,

Jeanne

Queen of Sit at the Table and Eat Your Dinner!!

About Jeanne

I'm a SAHM mother of 4 who loves nothing better than to spend the day with all of her Boys! I'm living out my dream being the hands-on Mommy I've always wanted to be!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Family Night Rocks!

  1. MLL says:

    Has anyone told you lately what a great Mom you are? You are and I am so proud of you.

  2. Deborah says:

    Family Night sounds like a lot of fun and a great idea. And how wonderful that the boys like school! I hope that keeps up. You’re a great mom, Jeanne.

  3. Julie says:

    Wow! Your family is beautiful! I’m so glad I can check up on the Browns this way. You have inspired me to try this.
    Its amazing how much they have changed since I saw them at Anitas.
    Love, Julie

Leave a Reply

